The first premium brand to enter Formula E in 2015, DS Automobiles is celebrating its 50th race start at the E-Prix in Santiago this weekend.

Since its launch in 2015, DS Automobiles has put electrification at the heart of its strategy. Engaging in Formula E is a key accelerator in the research and development of electrified vehicles that are revolutionizing the automotive industry.

In four seasons, DS has seen victories and titles won, in the face of the greatest competition ever generated by a championship controlled by the FIA, and one that has been have by the expertise of the brand’s electrification strategy. DS 3 CROSSBACK E-TENSE is a 100% electric BEV (Battery Electric Vehicle), and DS 7 CROSSBACK E-TENSE 4×4 a modern PHEV (Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle) – a rechargeable hybrid with 300 horsepower and four-wheel drive yet with very low CO2 emissions (from just 30g/km in most markets), was initiated from this expertise to become benchmarks in their respective categories.

Since last year, DS Automobiles has won two Formula E champion titles with its E-TENSE ambassador Jean-Éric Vergne (Formula E Driver’s World Champion) and its DS TECHEETAH Team (Formula E Team Champions).

Béatrice Foucher, DS Automobiles CEO: “Our commitment to Formula E is already bearing fruit with the  arrival and promotion of our electrified models, DS 3 CROSSBACK E-TENSE and DS 7 CROSSBACK E-TENSE 4×4. Due to the valued contribution of DS Performance – our motor sport competition operation, the architecture of our powertrains is always more efficient. Likewise, research on software energy management, in particular on how to slow down a car by recovering kWh and without using the brakes, makes the DS that we offer to our customers more efficient, and very competitive when measuring all efficiencies. This is part of a deeper commitment to a better future. From 2025, all new DS creations will exclusively be offered with electrified power units.

Since the Beijing E-Prix on October 24, 2015, the drivers of the teams powered by DS Performance cars have collectively won with a Drivers title with Jean-Éric Vergne (2018/2019), a Team title with DS TECHEETAH (Season 5 – 2018/2019), as well as 8 wins, 8 pole positions and 8 fastest laps in the 49 E-Prix race championship.

The Santiago E-Prix will be broadcasted live this Saturday, 18 January from 8.00pm.