The 2020 MotoGP World Championship will comprise between 13 and 17 races, and it will start the next 19th July in Spain, at the Circuito de Jerez – Ángel Nieto, as confirmed by the official calendar released this morning by FIM and Dorna Sports.

After the cancellation of the Qatar GP for the MotoGP class on the last 8th March, and the subsequent postponements of all other events due to the Covid-19 pandemic, FIM and Dorna Sports have announced the new 2020 calendar today. The 2020 season will have a duration of four months – if the championship will be held only in Europe – which could be extended to five months if racing overseas will become possible in the latter part of the year.

The first MotoGP race of the 2020 season will be held on Sunday 19th July at the Spanish Circuito de Jerez- Ángel Nieto, which will also host a second GP the following weekend, on 26th July. After that, the calendar will become very challenging, until the completion of the 13 races scheduled in Europe in just four months. The championship could also see the addition of the Americas GP (Austin), Argentina GP (Termas de Rio Hondo), Thai GP (Buriram) and Malaysian (Sepang) GP, which have not been confirmed yet, and that could extend the season until the 13th December, deadline for the completion of 2020 campaign.


19th July – Spanish GP – Circuit de Jerez- Ángel Nieto
26th July – Andalusian GP – Circuit de Jerez- Ángel Nieto
9th August – Czech Republic GP – Brno Automodrom
16th August – Austrian GP – Red Bull Ring – Spielberg
23rd August – Styria GP – Red Bull Ring – Spielberg
13th September – San Marino and Riviera di Rimini GP – Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli
20th September – Emilia Romagna and Riviera di Rimini GP – Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli
27th September – Catalan GP – Barcelona – Catalunya
11th October – French GP – Le Mans
18th October – Aragón GP – MotorLand Aragón
25th October – Teruel GP – MotorLand Aragón
8th November – Europe GP – Comunitat Valenciana – Ricardo Tormo
15th November – Valencia GP – Comunitat Valenciana – Ricardo Tormo
To be confirmed – Americas GP – Circuit of The Americas
To be confirmed – Argentina GP – Termas de Rio Hondo
To be confirmed – Thai GP – Chang International Circuit
To be confirmed – Malaysian GP – Sepang International Circuit

All dates, events that, for now, will be held behind closed doors, will be subject to the evolution of the health situation and the approval of the governments and authorities for each country.